Tags

I had this moment this morning as I was reading Romans. I have been reading it in the Mirror translation – which I really really like, and as I was reading chapter 9 of Romans this verse hit me in a new way.

The same act of mercy that He willingly bestows on everyone,  may bless the one and harden the heart of the other.  Romans 9:18

Read that again.                                                          thXI3TRI5K

and one more time.

Are you catching the same thing I did or am?

How often have we been told God blesses who he wants and hardens the heart of who he wants.

Does that sound like a God who can only give life ? That can only give good and perfect gifts to his children?

Wouldn’t that make God an angry God picking and choosing who he like and doesn’t like ?

The  SAME ACT of MERCY that he WILLINGLY bestows on EVERYONE, may bless the one and harden the heart of the other.

Is it possible that it is in how we receive the mercy – which is the gift ?

He gives us mercy and by receiving his mercy, we see his blessings.

He gives us mercy and we reject it, which causes my heart to become hardened, bitter and like stone.

Could it be that God is and always will be loving, but it is in how we receive his mercy ?

For example: I do something I know is wrong, but God’s mercy is being poured down over me and I begin the process of repentance, forgiveness and blessings.

I do something I know is wrong, God’s mercy is being poured out, but I think I know better, I find excuses, and do not seek forgiveness, which leads to bitterness and hardness of heart .

th0VTO02RU

I don’t think God is out to harden anyone’s heart – He is always bestowing mercy – but how we handle or receive that mercy ….

So how are you receiving His mercy today ?

Are you feeling blessed or hardened ?

 

